Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Pivot Masters: Spiritual Connectivity

September 8 @ 9:00 am - 10:00 am PDT

While the current global pandemic has shaken many organizations in our Jewish communal field to the core, it has also provided an opportunity for experimentation, collaboration, and creativity like never seen before. JCoco, the Jewish Collaborative Coworking network, has witnessed examples of extraordinary leadership from around the globe pivoting in the areas of spiritual connectivity, staff culture, fundraising and community engagement. Please join us as we hear from leaders representing organizations with diverse missions as they share their stories of “pivoting” in a time of crisis.

Topic: Spiritual Connectivity
Times: 9AM (PDT) / 11AM (CST) / 12PM (EST) / 7PM (IDT) / 2AM (AEST)

——————————————————————————————————–
Chaya GilboaDirector of Jewish Engagement, The Leichtag FoundationChaya Gilboa

Chaya was born in Jerusalem to an ultra-Orthodox family. Her B.A. in Jewish Philosophy from Ben Gurion University (2008) was followed by a stint as a Hillel International Israel Fellow at Berkeley University and an M.A. in Public Policy from Hebrew University (2013), where she wrote her thesis on Haredi women, religion and state. In 2012, she was scholar-in-residence at the Paideia Institute in Sweden, where she taught Talmud and established an educators’ track.

In 2014, Chaya became Founding Director of Hevruta, a pluralistic, integrated gap-year program for Israeli and North American post-high school students at the Hartman Institute. Chaya is committed to creating alternatives within the realm of religion and state, establishing Hashgacha Pratit, an alternative kashrut system and active in crafting egalitarian wedding ceremonies and other initiatives that combine feminism and Jewish identity. Chaya is the mother of Michael and Avshalom and partner to Marek.

 

James Evans, Program Operations Manager, SVARA

James has been a Chicago resident since the fall of 2012 and has been an active SVARA learner since 2016.  He attended Florida State University, where he studied Political Science and French. As an Eagle Scout, his personal motto is “Always be prepared!”  When not working on making sure you have the most AMAZING learning environment, he can often be found with his nose in a sci-fi/fantasy book or cooking a delicious meal with friends.

 

Nimrod BaratzProgram Associate, Jewish Activism Summer School

Nimrod Baratz is a Jewish social activist and community builder, based in Berlin, Germany. Born and raised in Israel, Nimrod moved to Germany in 2015 and established himself there as a non-profit professional. In 2018, Nimrod co-founded a non-profit association, community and social framework of living, called JVB (Jenseits Von Birkenstraße e.V.). JVB  operate a small club, hosts events and promotes culture, ecological and political activism. Nimrod consulted the Alexander Haus e.V. foundation for community dialogue and Works in the management of the Jewish Activism Summer school (JASS) a leadership program for Jewish Activists. He is an active member of Eruv Hub a network for Berlin-based Jewish activism and social entrepreneurship.  Nimrod is now finalizing his thesis on Jewish intercultural dynamics in medieval Europe at the university of Potsdam, Germany.

 


Details

Date:
September 8
Time:
9:00 am - 10:00 am PDT
Event Categories:
,

Venue

via Zoom
CA
Website:
thehivesd.org

Organizers

The Hive
JCOCO

Details

Date:
September 8
Time:
9:00 am - 10:00 am PDT
Event Categories:
,

Venue

via Zoom
CA
Website:
thehivesd.org

Organizers

The Hive
JCOCO